Yoga with Kerry

"Yoga will meet you right where you are"

In each yoga class and private lesson, you may experience a variety of different yoga techniques. Here are some definitions of some of the techniques you may practice in class.

Yoga Technique Descriptions:

Mindful Movement - Yoga postures linked with breathing and meditation practices.
Breathwork - various breathing exercises and techniques.
Flow Yoga - Flowing yoga postures connecting breath and movement.
Joint Freeing Series - Joint Freeing Series (JFS)  progressive Series helps loosen stiff joints and tight muscle groups using simple, gentle, and specific movements.
Restorative Yoga - Series of relaxing postures using props such as bolsters and blankets to help the body and mind relax.
Yoga Nidra - Deep relaxation including visualization techniques, body scan, and progressive muscle relaxation.
Somatic Exercises - Series of exercises using repetitive, simple movement including progressive muscle relaxation to help release tension and holding patterns in the muscles and nervous system.
Pandiculation - slow, mindful movement using contraction and relaxation of muscles to help release tension.


8 Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

The classical style of Ashtanga yoga was developed by Patanjali, the author of the Yoga Sutras who described the eight aspects of Yoga as limbs of a tree. The 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga were developed and passed down by Krishnamacharya and then to Patanjali Jois who developed the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute and is now followed by many in the East and West as a traditional form of Hatha Yoga. Vinyasa Flow Yoga is an extension of Ashtanga Yoga and follows the same philosophies, but uses different sequence of poses.

"When practiced with regulation and awareness, the tree described by Patanjali begins to sprout. Practice is the only means of feeding it. 99% practice, and 1% theory" K. Pattabhi Jois.


8 Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga 

(Ashta = 8, Yoga=Union/Yoke)

1. Yama (Ethical Considerations) : Developing personal insights and how we interact with others and our environments.

Ahimsa (non-harm), Satya (truthfulness), Asteya (non-stealing), Brahmacharya (Self-control), Aparigraha (Non-grasping).

2. Niyamas (How we interact with ourselves, our internal world):

Saucha (Purity/non-clutter), Santosha (Joy/contentment), Tapas (Cleanliness/austerity), Svadhyaya (self-study/awareness), Ishwar-Pranidhan (Meditation/Consciousness)

3. Asana (Yoga postures)

4. Pranayama (Breathing techniques)

5. Pratyahara (Sense awareness and withdrawal)

6. Dharana (Concentration on 1 object)

7. Dhyana (Meditation)

8. Samadhi (State of joy and bliss)


"It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters in the end." Ursula K. LeGuin



    Links for Yoga resources:

    Yoga for Chronic Pain by Neil Pearson

    Yoga for Depression by Neil Pearson